Which food, when you eat it, instantly transports you to childhood?


Ice Cream and Sardine.

My cousin, who lived with us when I was a little lad in elementary school, taught me how to celebrate Children’s Day and Independent Day by eating ice cream and canned sardines. We were not fortunate enough to have these things in the village where we were living, because our grandparents, whom we were living with, had no such things in their budget, nor do we have money as kids to buy them. 

I was first introduced to them by my cousin when I was seven years old, and my cousin was fourteen. He will save some money for these days, and with the balance of the transport money given to us by our grandparents, we will have these luxury twice a year.

So whenever I eat ice cream and sardines, it instantly transports me back to my childhood days.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started